Taconic Mountain High, Massachusetts

The ritual of blogging is personally rewarding.  There is anticipation for what I will see and for the images I will capture – I have loved photography since childhood and have long-harbored desires of being a professional photographer.  I enjoy the thought process of creative writing – and I used to take the time for this every day, so it feels good to be back at it.  But the promise I made to myself to blog every day may be a hard one to keep.  I have many passions, hiking among them, and so yesterday, in lieu of blogging, I went hiking.

Summit of Mt. Greylock (me on L).

July 1, 2011 – A friend and I hiked Mt. Greylock, part of the Taconic Range, and the highest point in Massachusetts at 3,489 ft.  We chose a moderately strenuous 6.2 mile RT hike to the summit.  The weather was perfect, overcast and in the 70s.  We were surprised to find the 93-foot-high Massachusetts Veterans War Memorial Tower at the top (erected 1931-32).  It was an amazing day and I plan to hike Greylock again, as early as next week.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

