Maybe I Should Walk the Streets Instead?

On July 5, 2011 I posted “There’s Something in the Woods,” referencing, perhaps, a black bear that has been spotted around here.  Well last night at 7:00 PM, 1/2 mile from our house, a black bear crossed the road right in front of my husband.  He tried to grab his iPhone to take a picture… but he wasn’t quick enough.  He said “It was nearly the size of one lane!”  Wow!  So I looked it up and they average 4-6 ft in length, Males average 250 lbs. (range from 125 lbs. to over 600 lbs.) and Females average 150 lbs. (range from 90 lbs. to over 300 lbs.).  This didn’t stop me from going back into the woods this morning – into the belly of the beast – to pick more berries.

Internet Image - Black Bear

Internet Image - Black Bear

January 8, 2011, I think we had a Mountain Lion pass through our property.  Can you see how deep those scratches are?  I sent a picture to the DEC… and they say they can’t confirm (it’s more like they don’t want to confirm), but I believe it was sometime in 2010, a Mountain Lion crossed the road right in front of Scott, about 5 miles from our house.  (My dad, who lives in Berne, also had a mountain lion cross the road in front of him.)

What I believe is Mountain Lion Scratches.

Mountain Lion Scratches from January 8, 2011.

Again, Scott is the one who came outside the morning of May 31, 2010 and saw a Moose in our upper field.  He yelled for me to come see… Holy @#*?! So I ran back inside, grabbed my camera and I got a picture of him/her… but not a good one – too far away. (You can see a little better if you click on the images to enlarge.)

Moose in the Distance.

Moose in the Distance.

The Moose was in our field, but maybe I should start walking the streets to see the really good stuff??

2 thoughts on “Maybe I Should Walk the Streets Instead?

Leave a Reply

