Just Like Riding a Bike

It’s hard to break away from the farm because I do love it so much, and there is always something that needs to be done.  But when opportunity knocks, I will go.

This weekend my mom invited a group of us to see the New York City Ballet at Saratoga Performing Arts Center.  The ballet was Jewels (a ballet in three parts, Emeralds, Rubies and Diamonds) and my mom assured me I would love it.  I did not.  And I recently worked at SPAC (Event Planning, Marketing) and I’m still trying to love the ballet, but it is just not my thing.  Modern Dance, however, like Alvin Ailey, Paul Taylor, Mark Morris, even a modern ballet like The Cage… are much more my speed.  But to my mother, I say THANK YOU – I appreciate the invite and your company no matter what we do.

Sunday, my BFF Lisa invited me to go biking with her and her family.  I love her family as much as my own.  So, Scott and I took our bikes down from the racks where they have been hanging for years, and we dusted, washed, pumped and lubed them into working order.  When I lived in Colorado, my bike was my only transportation for many years, and I still keep very active, it has just been at least 5 years since I’ve been on my bike.

We did the Zim Smith Trail in the Malta/Round Lake area. And for those of you in the Capital District, you should check out this very cool website – http://www.ptny.org/Trailfinder/Default.aspx  (thanks Lis!).  It felt awesome to be on my bike again… it was so natural… just like riding a bike.

Leave a Reply

