Still Learning My Lesson.

I’m still learning a lesson.  I carry my big camera with me for weeks – not really using it because it has a long focal length and a 210 zoom lens – my small camera fits in my pocket and is what I use for the close-up, detailed shots.  But the only time I NEED the big lens are the days when I do not bring that camera with me.  For example, on this morning’s walk, I saw a red-tailed hawk sitting atop a tree in the distance – we walked closer and closer and the hawk allowed me to walk right up below it – usually they fly off long before I ever get close.  I snapped a few decent shots, but had I had my big camera with me, I could have filled the frame with a great shot of the bird looking down on me.  Then, we returned from the walk and I am sitting outside, typing this blog post, and the Hawk flies and perches in the apple tree behind the house.  I quickly went inside to get my big camera… and I only managed to snap a shot of the hawk as he was flying away.

Similar thing happened on the previous two morning walks.  Yesterday in the cornfield we happened upon a doe and her two fawns – we see them in the field most days – but it would have been a great shot with their auburn color against the green green of the corn stalks.  Day before that, we got within ten feet of a deer feeding under an apple tree.

Why can’t I learn this lesson??  Maybe if I type it ten times, like our teachers used to make us write a lesson on the blackboard back in elementary school:

I will NEVER head out for a walk without my big camera.
I will NEVER head out for a walk without my big camera.
I will NEVER head out for a walk without my big camera.
I will NEVER head out for a walk without my big camera.
I will NEVER head out for a walk without my big camera.
I will NEVER head out for a walk without my big camera.
I will NEVER head out for a walk without my big camera.
I will NEVER head out for a walk without my big camera.
I will NEVER head out for a walk without my big camera.
I will NEVER head out for a walk without my big camera.

Leave a Reply

