…So Fill Me To The Parting Glass…

 

[From Wikipedia] The Parting Glass” is an Irish traditional song, often sung at the end of a gathering of friends. It was allegedly the most popular song sung in both Scotland and Ireland before Robert Burns wrote “Auld Lang Syne”.

Last night we attended a Pig Roast put on by our friends who own Parting Glass Racing, at The Parting Glass Pub in Saratoga Springs, NY.  As friends/neighbors, we are always lucky enough to attend, but it is really a party for those in the thoroughbred horse racing business and for those who are the client/owners of Parting Glass Racing’s thoroughbred horse racing partnerships.

The star of the evening, the pig, was raised and roasted by Jimmy and his wife Pat from Millbrook, NY, and then delivered and served to an eager and hungry crowd!  There is nothing like a whole-roasted pig – succulent, smokey, and this one was served with a southern-style vinegar/ mustard BBQ sauce.  It was a beautiful night for an outdoor party, The Graham Tichy band played, the drinks flowed and we met a number of really great people.

Cheers & thank you to the Gallos for always including us in your celebration!!!

For more information on Parting Glass Racing — http://www.partingglassracing.com/

Lyrics to “The Parting Glass

Of all the money e’er I had,
I spent it in good company.
And all the harm I’ve ever done,
Alas! it was to none but me.
And all I’ve done for want of wit
To mem’ry now I can’t recall
So fill to me the parting glass
Good night and joy be with you all.

If I had money enough to spend,
And leisure time to sit awhile,
There is a fair maid in this town,
That sorely has my heart beguiled.
Her rosy cheeks and ruby lips,
I own she has my heart in thrall,
Then fill to me the parting glass,
Good night and joy be with you all.

Oh, all the comrades e’er I had,
They’re sorry for my going away,
And all the sweethearts e’er I had,
They’d wish me one more day to stay,
But since it falls unto my lot,
That I should rise and you should not,
I gently rise and softly call,
Good night and joy be with you all.


Leave a Reply

