Kitchen Progress – We’re Getting There….

Progress so far:
The ceiling has been washed and painted White.
The walls have been painted Allspice (maize/dijon mustard).
The trim has been stripped, sanded and painted Belgian Waffle (butter cream).
The door, radiator grills, and vent fan have been painted Black.
The back cabinet has been washed and painted Autumn Ridge (red).
I ripped up the ugly formica on the back counter, stripped it with a heat gun and a paint scraper down to the bare wood, sanded it and sealed it.

Next up:
Painting all the rest of the cabinets that butter cream/Belgian Waffle color.
When we can afford to do it, we also plan to replace the other section of formica counter (the main counter) with a nice piece of Black Soapstone.
With this mild Winter we are having, on the next warm day I plan to paint the outside of the kitchen door black as well (right now it is that horrible industrial grey color).
We will also swap out the light fixtures for some brighter, more kitchen appropriate styles so we can actually see what we are doing, esp. during the darker Winter months.
And, we will find some cool back-splashes for behind the sink and the stove.

This is a country kitchen in a very old house… and it ‘ain’t perfect’ but “ahhhh” is all I can say after applying a coat of paint.  We love it and it feels like a whole new kitchen!!

______________________________________
Recipe
Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Homemade Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream.

When it’s bitter cold outside, what better dessert to make than Homemade Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream?  I attempted to make this simple simple treat two nights ago when the kitchen was all torn apart, the table covered with appliances (including the ice cream maker) and loads of other crap. I gathered the ingredients to make a 1/2 batch, poured them in, took a peek and thought “that’s never going to make ice cream, there is not enough liquid in there” and that’s because I FORGOT TO GET THE FREEZING CHAMBER OUT OF THE FREEZER AND PUT IT INTO THE MAKER and so all the liquid leaked right out through the bottom and all over the table covered in appliances and other crap.  Bonehead maneuver and a big mess on my hands, but as they say, no sense crying over spilled milk.

I attempted it again last night, WITH the freezing chamber, and the results were much better!  Delicious.

This is the recipe for a full batch:
1 1/2 cups whole milk (I used 1%)
1 1/8 cups granulated sugar (I used splenda, and shy of one cup)
3 cups heavy cream (I used light cream)
1 tsp. peppermint extract
1 cup chocolate, finely chopped

In a medium bowl, beat the milk and sugar until the sugar is dissolved.  Stir in the heavy cream, extract and chopped chocolate.  PUT THE FREEZING CHAMBER IN THE ICE CREAM MAKER (crucial step), turn on the machine and pour in the mixture.  Process for 20-25 minutes.  Transfer the ice cream to a freezer-safe container and freeze.  Remove from the freezer 15 minutes before serving.

______________________________________
YOUR SYSTEM HAS BEEN ATTACKED!!!
I was going to post these kitchen progress pictures yesterday, but I spent the entire day… from 9:30AM to 5:30PM eradicating a trojan/rogue virus from my computer.  I wasn’t able to open a web browser or any application on my computer – I was bombarded with system attack messages.  I called my brother, the computer guru for help, and he gave me a few suggestions that (at first) didn’t work, including starting the computer in safemode to restore my computer to a previous state/date, and to run some anti-malware, anti-virus, defragging, desktop cleaner applications that I had to download onto a flash drive from a clean computer  – but even in safemode, these options didn’t work.  The rogue had hijacked my computer.  He also suggested that I google how to get rid of the trojan and I found the answer in a forum about this specific rogue.  I was nervous, but I followed the seven pages of instructions and downloaded more registry fixing/killing files from the clean computer to the flash to then run on my computer.  The system attack messages stopped and then I was able to run the computer cleaning applications that my brother told me to run.
  I am a warrior – victory is mine!!!  For now.

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Progress – We’re Getting There….

Leave a Reply

