The Goldilocks Principle.

I was disappointed to find out yesterday that a job I was really hoping for, was not to be mine.  Thankfully, I have plenty of paint stripping to keep my hands and mind busy (because you know what they say… ).

I am starting to feel like Goldilocks in my job search – “You are overqualified.” “You are underqualified.” “You want too much money.” “We can’t pay you enough.”  Am I too old or too young?  Do employers think I live too far away?  Because I am used to it – I’ve had a long commute since 1999.  Has someone put a hex on me?  Was my hair not right?  Do I smell???  Will I ever find an opportunity that is just right?

To brighten my mood, I made a Pumpkin Seed Butter version of my favorite cookies, Peanut Butter.  Addictive.  Between my husband and I snatching cookies every time we walk past the cookie jar, these babies will definitely be gone by tomorrow.

These will not last long...

Pumpkin Seed Butter Cookies
Yield: 2 dozen

½ cup butter
½ cup pumpkin seed butter (or other nut butter)
½ cup sugar
½ cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 ¼ cup flour
½ tsp. baking powder
¾ tsp. baking soda
¼ tsp. salt

Optional mix-ins:  chocolate chips, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, coconut, any dried fruits or nuts.

Preheat oven to 375°F.

Thoroughly whisk together the butter, nut butter, sugar, brown sugar and egg.  Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and then mix into the wet ingredients.  For this recipe, I divided the dough into three and mixed chocolate chips into 1/3, and sunflower seeds into 1/3.  Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto a cookie sheet.  Flatten each cookie with the tines of fork in a criss cross pattern.  Bake for 10 minutes.  Remove cookies to a paper towel to cool.

3 thoughts on “The Goldilocks Principle.

  1. They are crazy not to hire you! Something will turn up and like Goldilocks it will be just right! Keep cookin’! House is looking great too!

  2. Hi Heather,

    It’s Kendra (Kyra’s sister). I really enjoy your photography and I’m trying to figure out why you’re so thin with all these delicious things you bake around you! I would be a blimp…

Leave a Reply

