Simple, Healthy, Veggie Snacks.

My husband and I do our best to eat healthy.  If you could peek into my shopping cart you’d see it is full of ingredients – fruits, veggies, legumes, grains, eggs, tofu/tempeh, a few meats, low fat yoghurt/cottage/milk/cheeses, olives, olive oil, vinegar, nuts, dried fruits, coffee, tea and baking ingredients.

I use honey and pure maple syrup often, but I haven’t given up on white and brown sugar just yet.  Why?  Because the sugar we consume is limited to what I bake.

I know food manufacturers sneak sugar and corn syrup into everything, like condiments, so I look for it and avoid it, or, I make my own tomato sauce, bbq sauce, salad dressing… I’ve even made my own mayo, but we don’t eat it often so it is not worth the effort.

We are not food saints – we only buy some things local and organic, we don’t claim to be vegan, vegetarian, gluten free or macrobiotic.  We do indulge when we go out to eat, and sometimes… you just have to have a snickers bar or a fountain drink – but on a daily basis, we make a conscious effort to eat healthy.

Ninety percent of what we eat is made from scratch. On Superbowl Sunday we opted for these three simple, healthy, veggie snacks, and added them to a cheese platter with olives and sopresatta.

_______________________________________
Oven Roasted Tomatoes

2 – 28oz. cans Whole Tomatoes
Olive Oil
2 cloves fresh Garlic, minced
Rosemary, Oregano, Basil
Salt
Sugar

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Line a large baking dish with foil and drizzle with olive oil.  Squeeze juices from the canned tomatoes [I reserve the juice and make tomato sauce].  Cut tomatoes in half and lay them out in the baking dish.  Drizzle liberally with olive oil.  Sprinkle with herbs and salt to your liking, and just a touch of sugar to counter the tomato acid.  Bake for 1 1/2 hrs.  I used to bake these at 250°F for 4 hrs., but lining the baking dish with foil produces similar, caramelized results.  Enjoy tomatoes with goat cheese (this is a great combo on crostini) or with other soft cheeses; also great on salad in the winter when tomatoes are out of season.

_______________________________________
Oven Roasted Chick Peas

2- 28oz. cans Chickpeas (garbanzo beans)
Olive Oil
2 cloves Garlic, minced
Paprika
Salt

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Line a large baking dish with foil.  Drain and rinse chickpeas then transfer to baking dish.  Drizzle liberally with olive oil.  Add minced garlic, enough paprika to coat chickpeas, and a sprinkle of salt.  Mix thoroughly and bake for 1 1/2 hrs.

_______________________________________
Oven Roasted Broccoli

2 large Broccoli Crowns
Olive Oil
2 cloves Garlic, minced
Red Pepper Flakes
Salt

I am not a fan of broccoli raw and I really hate it steamed,  but I could eat roasted broccoli everyday..  It is sweet and nutty and crispy.  Preheat oven to 350°F.  Wash broccoli crowns and cut into small florets – slice the stem as well – and transfer to a large baking dish.  Drizzle liberally with olive oil.  Add the minced garlic, red pepper flakes and salt to taste.  Bake for 1 hr. 15 minutes.

___________________________________________
*Check here for dog room renovation pictures.  I decided to keep them all in one place because it will be a good way for me [and you, if interested] to track progress.

Leave a Reply

