“GIVE ME THE EYE!!”

I have been lost these past few days without my 3-month-new pocket digital camera.  Like the blind witches in the 1981 movie (because I hated the 2010 remake) Clash of the Titans who share a crystal ball/eye in order to see… without my camera I am blind.  “Give me the eye!!”

I do have a digital Nikon SLR, but I don’t like to bring the big camera on my Morning Walks when it is raining or snowing, or even when it’s really cold because it is so big and bulky under my warm jacket.

So the other day this new Olympus SZ-10 started making a popping noise and, with or without use of the flash, there was a foul burning smell coming from inside the camera, under where the flash is located.  This current broken Olympus digital camera is en-route to Emergency Care down on Long Island and I will anxiously be waiting by my mailbox every day for the next 3-4 weeks until the fixed or replaced “eye” is safely back in my hands.

My previous broken Olympus digital camera was a Stylus 1200 and it only lasted 3 years before the sensors essentially ate themselves and the camera died.  This is a horrible track record for Olympus – and it is killing whatever sense of brand loyalty I had developed.  Is this just bad luck or should we all expect to buy new digital technology every few years [or months]??

____________________________________________
*Check here for dog room renovation pictures.  As my mom said “no one will ever appreciate that room the way you will.”  Very true – and let me tell you, my muscles ache for all 160 years’ worth of paint that came off those walls .  Sunday was such a killer that I had to take a break from scraping yesterday.

____________________________________________
And now for something completely different:

In a previous post about the satisfaction of squash while trying to eat less meat, I mentioned Spaghetti Squash with Clams.  This recipe is very loose, but give it a whirl – it’s delicious.

Spaghetti Squash with Clams.

Spaghetti Squash with Clams
Yield: 2 dinner/meal-sized servings

1 large spaghetti squash
2 Tbs. olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
2, 6.5 oz. cans clams
1/2 cup+ white wine
2 Tbs. butter
Oregano (fresh or dried)
2-3 Tbs. fresh parsley, chopped
Fresh Parmesan or Asiago cheese, grated
Cracked black pepper

Cut 1 large Spaghetti Squash in half, lengthwise.  Scrape out seeds and either discard seeds or toast them up with a little olive oil and spices (salt, garlic, paprika).  Place squash, cut-side down into about an inch of water in a large saucepan with a lid.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for about 1/2 hr, or until squash is soft and your finger leaves an indent when you press on the skin.  Remove squash and cool it long enough so you can handle it.  Once cool, scrape out all the flesh and discard the skins.  Reserve about 1 cup of the squash water and discard the rest.

Into the saucepan add a few Tablespoons olive oil and saute minced garlic (all spicing in this recipe is to taste).  Deglaze pan with a good pour (1/2 cup+) of white wine.  Add the clam juice, the reserved cup of squash water and the oregano and simmer until the liquid reduces by half.  Add the butter and at the last minute toss in the clams.

Divide squash into two pasta bowls and top with a few ladles of clam mixture, fresh parsley, grated cheese and cracked black pepper.

Homemade Sourdough with Gremolata and Roasted Beet Greens.

Again, no real recipe here – it’s just one of my favorite lunches.  A piece of my homemade sourdough, toasted, topped with gremolata (which is chopped parsley, lemon rind, lemon juice, minced garlic, olive oil and salt), topped with beet greens, which were roasted with olive oil, garlic and basil.

Leave a Reply

